

MAYOR Geno Martini

CITY COUNCIL
Julia Ratti, Ward I
Ed Lawson, Ward II
Ron Smith, Ward III
Mike Carrigan, Ward IV
Ron Schmitt, Ward V

CITY ATTORNEY Chet Adams

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES 2:00 P.M., Monday, November 10, 2014 City Council Chambers, Legislative Building, 745 Fourth Street, Sparks, Nevada

1. Call to Order (Time: 2:00 p.m.)

The special meeting of the Sparks City Council was called to order by Mayor Geno Martini at 2:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call (Time: 2:00 p.m.)

Mayor Geno Martini, Council Members Julia Ratti, Ed Lawson, Ron Smith, Mike Carrigan, Ron Schmitt, City Manager Steve Driscoll, City Attorney Chet Adams and Acting City Clerk Donna DiCarlo, PRESENT.

ABSENT: None

Staff Present: Adam Mayberry, Rich Brown, Judge Spoo, Tom Garrison, Brian Allen, Ron Korman, Dan Marran, Michael Drinkwater, Ty Reid, Tracy Domingues, Cyndi Boggan, Neil Krutz, Mindy Falk, Jeff Cronk, George Graham, Armando Ornelas, Kathy Clewett, Tim Thompson, Judge McCarthy, Todd Saxberg, John Martini, Jim Rundle, Karen Melby, Rich Brown

- 3. Opening Ceremonies
 - **3.1 Invocation Speaker** None
 - **3.2** Pledge of Allegiance Led by Council Member Mike Carrigan

4. Canvass of Election Result

4.1 Canvass the Votes and Declare the Results of the 2014 General Election (FOR POSSIBLE ACTION) (Time: 2:01 p.m.)

Acting City Clerk Donna DiCarlo reviewed the results of the 2014 General Election as follows:

Total Voter Registration – 45,633

Total Turnout – 22,727 – 49.80%

Early Voters – 10,319

Absentee Voters – 1,913

Election Day Voters – 10,495

Number of Early Voting Locations – 21

Total Number of Election Day Polling Places – 83

Early Voting Locations within the City of Sparks – 5

Special City Council Meeting Minutes - Page 2 Monday, November 10, 2014

Mayor:		
Geno Martini	16,781 votes cast	78.27 % of voters
Gene Newhall	4,658 votes cast	21.73 % of voters
C '1W 12		
Council Ward 2: Ed Lawson	12 100 yestes soot	63.94 % of voters
Ed Cawson Ed Goodrich	12,100 votes cast 6,823 votes cast	36.06 % of voters
Eu Goodfich	0,025 votes cast	30.00 % of voters
Council Ward 4:		
Charlene Bybee	11,616 votes cast	58.15 % of voters
Kristopher Dahir	8,361 votes cast	41.85 % of voters
Thistophor Dum	0,501 votes cust	77.02 / 01 / 01015
Municipal Judge for Department One:		
Barbara McCarthy	18,307 votes cast	100 % of voters
A motion was made by Council Member Schmitt, seconded by Council Member Smith, to		
approve and declare the results of the 2014 General Election. Council Members Ratti, Lawson,		
Smith, Carrigan, Schmitt, YES. Passed unanimously.		
5. Adjournment		
The Special City Council Meeting was adjourned at 2:04 pm.		
After the meeting was adjourned, a swearing in ceremony of the newly elected and re-elected		
officials was performed by Municipal Court Judge Jim Spoo. Council Member Ed Lawson,		
Mayor Geno Martini and Council Member Charlene Bybee each thanked their families for the		
support they provide in the campaigns and in the performance of their duties as public servants.		
		GENO R. MARTINI, Mayor
		GLIVO K. WII MYTHAI, Wiayor
ATTEST:		

Teresa Gardner, City Clerk